Easy Job Alert

Keep your knowledge up to date

2018 Albany Medical Center Prize Awarded To 3 US Scientists

Scientists James Allison, Carl June and Steven Rosenberg were declared winners 2018 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research. They were awarded in recognition of their research in immunology and translation of their ideas into effective therapies that have led to innovative treatments for cancer, HIV and other diseases.

They will share this $500,000 medical prize. They will receive the award at the ceremony to be held in September 2018 in Albany, New York.

Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research:

In medicine and biomedical research Albany Medical Center Prize is United States’ second-highest value prize , awarded by the Albany Medical Center. It was established in 2000.

Mario Abdo Benitez Sworn In As New President Of Paraguay

Colorado Party’s Mario Abdo Benitez was sworn in as the new President of Paraguay for a five-year term.

Benitez clinched the top spot after defeating his closest rival, Efrain Alegre from the liberal opposition alliance, by four percentage points in the nation’s elections, which were held in April 2018.

Director Ang Lee To Be Honoured By Directors Guild Of America

Director Ang Lee will be one of the recipients of the annual Directors Guild of America (DGA) honours at its ceremony. He is Oscar-winning director.This event will be held at the DGA Theatre in New York City on October 18.

Apart from the 63-year-old director, Fox Searchlight chairman Nancy Utley, US Senator Amy Klobuchar, SAG-AFTRA senior adviser John McGuire and costume designer Ann Roth will also be honoured at the ceremony.

Ibrahim Boubacar Keita Re-Elected Mali President

Boubacar Keita has been re-elected Mali President for a five-year term after winning a landslide in a runoff ballot.

The 73 year old Keita picked up 67.17% of the vote against 32.83% for opposition challenger and former finance minister Soumaila Cisse, 68, who also ran against Keita in 2013.

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.